US Stock Market Hours

Today is Thursday June 22, 2017. The US stock market is open.

For today's market hours (both regular and extended hours), consult the following tables.

US Stock Market Hours: Regular Trading Session

RegionCurrent
Local Time
Market Open
Local Time
Market Close
Local Time
Eastern Standard Time (EST) - New York 4:40 AM9:30 AM4:00 PM
Central Standard Time (CST) - Chicago 3:40 AM8:30 AM3:00 PM
Mountain Standard Time (MST) - Denver 2:40 AM7:30 AM2:00 PM
Pacific Standard Time (PST) - Los Angeles 1:40 AM6:30 AM1:00 PM
Alaskan Standard Time (AKST) - Alaska12:40 AM5:30 AM12:00 PM
Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST) - Hawaii10:40 PM3:30 AM10:00 AM

Note: The above hours of US stock markets are for normal trading days. On some holiday eve days, such as the day before Independence Day, the day before Thanksgiving Day, and the day before Christmas, the market hours will shorted to half day and will close four hours early.

US Stock Market Hours: Pre-market Trading Session

RegionCurrent
Local Time
Pre-Market Open
Local Time
Pre-Market Close
Local Time
Eastern Standard Time (EST) - New York 4:40 AM7:00 AM9:30 AM
Central Standard Time (CST) - Chicago 3:40 AM6:00 AM8:30 AM
Mountain Standard Time (MST) - Denver 2:40 AM5:00 AM7:30 AM
Pacific Standard Time (PST) - Los Angeles 1:40 AM4:00 AM6:30 AM
Alaskan Standard Time (AKST) - Alaska12:40 AM3:00 AM5:30 AM
Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST) - Hawaii10:40 PM1:00 AM3:30 AM

Note: most brokerage firms will start executing pre-market orders a few minutes after the official pre-market open time.

US Stock Market Hours: After Hours Trading Session

RegionCurrent
Local Time
After-Market Open
Local Time
After-Market Close
Local Time
Eastern Standard Time (EST) - New York 4:40 AM4:00 PM8:00 PM
Central Standard Time (CST) - Chicago 3:40 AM3:00 PM7:00 PM
Mountain Standard Time (MST) - Denver 2:40 AM2:00 PM6:00 PM
Pacific Standard Time (PST) - Los Angeles 1:40 AM1:00 PM5:00 PM
Alaskan Standard Time (AKST) - Alaska12:40 AM12:00 PM4:00 PM
Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST) - Hawaii10:40 PM10:00 AM2:00 PM

Note: most brokerage firms will start executing after hours orders a few minutes after the official after-hours open time.